1985 Beragh Reserve team_NEWb

1985 Beragh Reserve team: Back row from left – Finbar Grimes, Gerry Maguire, Seamus Boyle, Brian McGarvey, Frank Owens, Barney Cunningham, Gerry Ward, Anthony Lyttle, Gerry Owens (manager). Front row from left – Niall Grimes, John Farley, Aidan Grimes, Mickey Rodgers, Eamon McClean, Patsy Farley, Malachy Owens, Gerry Boyle, Adrian Nixon, Colm Ward. Other panel members: Aidan Grimes, Sean Owens, Sean McNamee.

MEMBERS of the 1984 and 1985 Beragh Reserve teams will get the chance to renew friendships when they join the guests at this weekend’s annual presentation function.

The teams won the Division Two Reserve Championship title in both years, defeating Edendork twice in the deciders, which were played at Pomeroy and Donaghmore respectively. The team was captained by Anthony Lyttle in 1984 and Seamus Boyle in 1985 and the joint managers were Gerry and Frank Owens.

The players involved will receive a special commemorative presentation marking their achievements of 30 years ago.

It has been a long-standing tradition within the club to invite back a successful team from the past to the Dinner Dance, starting in 1988 with the 1972 side which won promotion to senior.

Tickets for Saturday’s dinner dance (8pm) are now on sale priced at £20 – available from Costcutters and Farley’s in Beragh and from Heaney’s Spar in Sixmilecross.
1984 Reserve team_cr

1984 Beragh Reserve team: Back row from left – Gerry Owens (manager), Barry Donnelly, Adrian Nixon, Colm McAleer, Hugh McNamee, Gerry Boyle, Paddy Rodgers, Frank Rodgers, Gerard Donnelly, Barney Cunningham. Front row from left – John Farley, Patsy Farley, Finbar Grimes, Joe Franey, Eamon McClean, Eamon Hackett, Donal McAleer, Conor Kerr, Mickey Rodgers, Anthony Lyttle. Other panel members – Enda McClean, Eugene O’Neill.